Twelve (Nine) Contredanses, WoO 14, arr. for Piano, Hess 102

Twelve (Nine) Contredanses, WoO 14, arr. for Piano, Hess 102
Download MIDI File
Author: Willem
Length: 6:53
Twelve (Nine) Contredanses for Orchestra WoO 14, for Piano Hess 102 (1791-1801).

Only the first six of the set of 12 were published in the piano version (Mollo, Vienna 1802); however, a copyist's score also contains three more which are also presented here as Nrs. 7-9. It is doubtful that Beethoven ever wrote a piano version for the other three dances. Numbering of the contredanses in the midi follows that of the published score for piano, which is very different than the order of these dances in the version for orchestra. According to Barry Cooper, Nr. 1 and Nr. 9 date from about 1791 in Bonn, Nr. 3 probably dates from 1795, Nrs. 4, 5 and 7 from late 1801. Nr. 2 is derived from the ballet music for Creatures of Prometheus op. 43, and was used again in the Finale of the Third Symphony.

According to Shin Kojima nrs. 8 and 12 from WoO 14 (that's to say, nrs. 1 and 9 from Hess 102) are possibly arranged by Karl van Beethoven, Ludwig's brother, based on sketches by Ludwig.

WoO: 14
Hess: 102

Click here to help us continue bringing more Unheard Beethoven compositions to the Internet